We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Find out more.
(UK time) 19:52:50

County Cricket Odds

County Cricket Odds

With three different formats of the game making up first-class cricket each season, there is certainly no shortage of trophies to be competed for.

In terms of Test cricket, the 18 first-class counties are split into two divisions to compete for the County Championship, where points are typically awarded for winning and drawing, while bonus points can be gained based on runs scored in an innings or by taking wickets.

Lancashire ended a 77-year wait when claiming their eighth County Championship in 2011, excluding a shared championship win in 1950, and it will be fascinating to see how they go about attempting to defend their title in the coming season.

Meanwhile, Surrey will be looking to recapture the form that saw them dominate the early years of the century, and the likes of Durham and Nottinghamshire will be hoping to build and improve on their successes of recent years.

One day cricket also features in County Cricket Odds

In terms of one-day cricket, the 18 counties, plus Scotland, the Netherlands and the Unicorns take part in the ECB 40. The competition involves 40-over matches, where each team must advance through a group stage and then two knockout rounds to triumph.

The Surrey Lions are the defending champions, with the tournament only being in existence for two years to replace both the Pro 40 and Friends Provident Trophy.

With the demand for T20 cricket growing, the 18 counties also battle for the Friends Life T20. This is also broken down into a similar format to the ECB 40, but with less teams in each group and an extra knockout round.

As a rule the Middlesex Panthers, Surrey Lions and Derbyshire Falcons tend to have trouble escaping the group stages, while the Hampshire Royals have typically been the team to beat.

County teams

Derbyshire Falcons
Durham Dynamos
Essex Eagles
Gloucestershire Gladiators
Hampshire Royals
Kent Spitfires
Lancashire Lightning
Leicestershire Foxes
Middlesex Panthers
Northamptonshire Steelbacks
Nottinghamshire Outlaws
Surrey Lions
Sussex Sharks
Warwickshire Bears
Welsh Dragons
Worcestershire Royals
Yorkshire Carnegie

18 first-class counties are split into two divisions to compete for the County Championship

Share this content

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Technorati
  • email
  • Ping.fm
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter